ECHS  Facility is Entitled to Only These Categories

ECHS provides cashless & capless medical coverage for the ESM and their eligible dependents in the established polyclinics/military hospitals/empanelled hospitals across the country.

ECHS  entitles all Exserviceman drawing pension from Controller of Defence Accounts, including those in receipt of Disability/ Family Pension and their dependents to be eligible for membership. Membership has been made compulsory for all pensioners with effect from 1st April 2003 and is optional for earlier retirees. Over the years, the ECHS membership has been extended to pensioners

(a)   Territorial Army (TA),
(b)   Defence Security Corps (DSC),
(c)   Uniformed Indian Coast Guard (ICG),
(d)   Military Nursing Service (MNS),
(e)   Special Frontier Force (SFF),
(f)    Nepal Domiciled Gorkha (NDG),

(g)   Whole time NCC Officers,
(h)   Girl Cadet Instructors (GCIs),
(i)    Eligible APS pensioners,
(j)   Assam Rifles pensioners,
(k)   WW II Veterans,
(l)   Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs),
(m)   Emergency Commissioned Officers (ECOs)(n)   Pre-Mature Retirees (PMR).

For Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs), and Pre Mature Retirees, ECHS facility would be extended only to the ESM and their spouses. No other dependent will be eligible.

ECHS was authorised by Government of India on 30 Dec 2002 and has been introduced from 01 April 2003. It is a medicare scheme for Ex-Servicemen (ESM) who are drawing pension from Defence Estimates and their eligible dependents. It provides medical care through outpatient treatment at 427 Polyclinics all over India and six polyclinics in Nepal and outpatient and inpatient treatment through Military Hospitals and empanelled private hospitals and diagnostic centers. Treatment/hospitalization in Service Hospitals will be available to ECHS members, subject to availability of specialists, medical staff and bed space.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top